La bella vita

Leave a comment

April 21, 2015 by chloehathway

Ciao! I went back to the UK for a few days (in the optimistic hope that I may find some work in Italy during the summer and won’t be back home for a while!), but I am now back in Italy and getting back into the swing of things. I actually got questioned at Bristol airport security regarding the suspiciously large amount of Easter eggs in my suitcase… and received pretty dubious looks when I said that all (okay, okay…most) of it was for people in Italy!

A car, plane, bus and train later and I was back in my little Parma. It’s funny how quickly somewhere becomes home.

Since I have been back, a couple of good things have happened. First of all, I didn’t fail French university! In fact, I did well! Our grades finally came through (classic France) and all I can say is, it really does all work out in the end. Secondly, the student loan is here! I would be lying if I said I wasn’t planning on putting some of it away for some travelling while I’m here. And finally, tickets have been booked to Budapest and I’m off to Naples in two days’ time.

Life is good.

Actually, it’s more than good. During my visit to the UK, most of my friends were busy preparing for university exams and finishing off their dissertations. Here in Parma, the weather has been beautiful, my contact hours have been halved and this freedom (albeit temporary) is the most wonderful feeling in the world. I know I won’t have this much flexible time next year, or maybe even ever again, so I’m not wasting it.

Admittedly, today I am sat inside catching up on correspondence and planning an essay, but it can’t all be fun and games! That being said, the past 10 days have been full of aperitivo, parks, gelato, sushi, a fab night out, pizza, late nights, wine and a day trip to Modena. The work is certainly balanced out by all of that!

Life has become a pretty fine mix of sunshine, teaching, Italian classes, travel plans, aperitivo and park afternoons.

This is pretty much the Italian dream. La vita è bella.

Modena

Modena

Leave a comment